Pilgrimage to Assisi

We spent one day in Assisi while we were based in Norcia. Assisi was a very holy place, but it was too cluttered with tourists and not enough pilgrims. We did our best to pray at this wonderful city of St. Francis and St. Clare. I was also glad to learn that Francis had many holy friends as well.  It gives me hope for this motley crew!  I visited the main basilica, then John Grant and I hiked up to Mt. Subasio, where Francis received the stigmata, and I ended by going to St. Clare’s church to see the San Damiano cross that spoke to Francis and to venerate Clare’s relics.

Tomb of St. Francis in Assisi

Praying at the tomb of St. Francis was the highlight of my visit to Assisi. I have never had much of a devotion to Francis prior to this pilgrimage, but visiting Assisi stirred up many holy aspirations in my heart, especially to live a life a simplicity. The communion of Saints is real,  and I realized its power praying by the tomb of Francis.

-Ryan O’Neill

Comments are closed.

